Morea Dropped from Barramundis Squad

CricketPasifika Social Media

PNG Barramundis Squad announced for UAE Tour


The HEBOU PNG Barramundis squad that will be touring the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from the 21st November to 10th December 2017 was announced at the Cricket Office last week.

The fourteen (14) man HEBOU PNG Barramundis squad will once again be led by Assad Vala with former Australian First-Class Cricketer and Australian Women’s Assistant Coach, Joe Dawes being in charge of his first assignment as Cricket PNG’s (CPNG’s) Consultant Coach.

The squad will feature twelve (12) players from the Port Moresby Cricket Association (POMCA), Chad Soper who is currently based in Sydney playing Grade Cricket for Northern District and Damian Ravu from Lae Cricket Association (LCA).

Veteran opening batsman, Vani Vagi Morea was left out of the squad while for the first time, Kipling Doriga was selected in the Hebou PNG Barramundis Squad. Doriga has an opportunity to become the 118th Barramundis to receive a “Baggy Black” Cap.

“The selectors have maintained the vast majority of the squad that played against Scotland with the exception of Vani Vagi Morea who has been replaced in the travelling group by Kipling Doriga. This change reflects the need for greater stability at the top of the order and the selectors felt that the pitches in the UAE would likely suit others within the batting group more so than Morea. Kipling’s selection is also in keeping with our desire to continue to build our depth and is testament to his consistent domestic form,” said Faunt.

The Hebou PNG Barramundis will play two (2) One Day Internationals (ODIs) against Scotland on Friday 24th and Saturday 25th November in Dubai, before taking on Hong Kong in the Round 7 International Cricket Council (ICC) Intercontinental Cup (ICUP) from Wednesday 29th November to Saturday 2nd of December in Sharjah and World Cricket League Championships (WCLC) matches on Wednesday 6th and Friday 8th December at the ICC Academy.

The Hebou PNG Barramundis will depart Port Moresby, tomorrow for Dubai.

PNG Barramundis Squad


  1. Assad Vala (Captain)
  2. Jack Vare-Kevere
  3. Kiplin Doriga
  4. Lega Siaka
  5. Tony Ura
  6. Sese Bau
  7. Mahuru Dai
  8. Damian Ravu
  9. John Boge Reva
  10. Alei Nao
  11. NosianaPokana
  12. Norman Vanua
  13. Chad Soper
  14. Dogodo Bau



Friday 24th November, 2017:                                              1st ODI- Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Scotland

Saturday 25th November, 2017:                                          2nd ODI- Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Scotland

Wednesday 29th November to Saturday 2nd December:    ICUP R7- Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Hong Kong

Wednesday 6th December, 2017:                                       WCLC R7- Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Hong Kong

Friday 8th December, 2017:                                                WCLC R7- Hebou PNG Barramundis vs Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *