ICC World Cricket League

CricketPasifika Social Media

The International Cricket Council’s World Cricket League

The International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cricket League (WCL) was created in 2007 and so far has featured four Pacific Island nations, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Vanuatu. The World Cricket League is the ladder all associate and affiliate nations must climb to reach the world cup.


Upcoming or Continuing Tournaments

2015-17 ICC World Cricket League Championship

2018 ICC World Cricket League Division Four


Completed Tournaments

2016 ICC World Cricket League Division Five




1st Edition 2007-2009

The WCL acted as a qualifier for the 2009 World Cup Qualifier and a pathway to the 2011 World Cup. In the first edition of the WCL there were five divisions. Papua New Guinea and Fiji began in division 3 in 2007. PNG finished the first edition remaining in Division 3 while Fiji fell to Division 5. Vanuatu debuted in Division 5 in 2008 but was relegated to regional events.


2nd Edition 2009-2014

The second edition paved the path to the 2015 World Cup via the 2014 World Cup Qualifier. The WCL expanded to 8 divisions in 2010 but contracted to 6 by 2013. It implemented for the first time the Wrrld Cricket League Championship in place of Division 1. Papua New Guinea began their push from Division 3 and finished by qualifying for One Day International Status and the World Cricket League Championshipe through the 2014 World Cup Qualifier. Fiji’s descent down the WCL continued as they fell from Division 5 to Division 7. Vanuatu re-entered the WCL in Division 8 in 2010 and were promoted to Division 6. Samoa also entered the WCL in Division 8 in 2012 but were relegated back to regional events.


3rd Edition 2012-2018

The third edition has began with Six divisions climbing their way to the 2019 World Cup. PNG currently remain in the World Cricket League Championship. Fiji were relegated from the World Cricket League in Division 7 and promptly returned to Division 6 via regional qualifiers only to be relegated back. Vanuatu have been promoted to the 2016 WCL Div 5 and will play in May.